Extract(Read) > Transform(Test&Apply) > Load(Learn) Blog

September 21, 2007

Automatic SQL Tuning with DBMS_SQLTUNE package example and SQL Profile Contents

Filed under: Oracle 10g New Features — H.Tonguç Yılmaz @ 3:08 pm

I mentioned 10g Automatic SQL Tuning feature before -
Expanded Supplied Packages with 10g – Part 3 – Section 5- Automatic SQL Tuning

I am a traditional manual tuning guy but when I have the chance of working on 10g instances, I never regret Oracle’s help :) This post is related to this Oracle forums post – http://forums.oracle.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=552342&tstart=0&messageID=2078280#2078280

Here the problem is that Oracle recommends some profiles inside OEM or DBMS_SQLTUNE package to improve your problematic sql queries but what Oracle recommends is something you have to dig a little more – Code Listing 142 – Automatic SQL Tuning with DBMS_SQLTUNE package example and SQL Profile Contents

SQL Profiles are like hints and outlines they make your execution plan static, so I believe they again may be preferred as a last resort.

A special thanks goes to Nicolas Gasparotto for sharing this Firefox add-on to paste automatic signature into a forums post, I share this since you may also like to use it for possible other needs of yours -
http://forums.oracle.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=323752&tstart=0&messageID=2078273#2078273

I finished another Turkcel Academy class yesterday and at last, I am going for a holiday, destination is my family and beautiful land Fethiye. So here silence will be around for a while and I hope to meet you 10 days after today with new ideas to share :)

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers